HiGHmed Consortium
HiGHmed Logo

The consortium HiGHmed unites and integrates competences of eight university hospitals and medical faculties as well as further scientific and business partners in order to develop innovative information infrastructures. Thus, the translation of research findings into clinical practice shall be accelerated.

HiGHmed is funded by BMBF during the development and networking phase since January 2018.

Development and networking phase

Data integration centres

The partners collaborate across organisations and institutions in order to establish a network of data integration centres and to expand this network in terms of quality and quantity in the following years. In doing so, they aim to develop innovative and interoperable data integration solutions and methods on the basis of international standards and to prove their benefits for research and health care.

Based on three scientifically challenging clinical use cases in the fields of oncology, cardiology and infection control, the data integration centres will show exemplarily how data, information and knowledge from health care as well as clinical and biomedical research can be connected for the benefit of patients across locations. For the efficient use of data between the facilities, the consortium will focus on open, standardised and interoperable solutions that can be transferred to other clinical use cases and sustainably integrated into the operation of university hospitals. Data protection and data security have top priority.

Use Cases

The oncology use case will address the challenges of incorporating huge data volumes (omics data) from genome sequencing and radiology into clinical practice. A virtual oncology centre will visualise the course of cancer treatment, and serve as a platform for sharing information between hospitals, research institutes, doctors and patients. The virtual centre will play a significant role in identifying similar cancer cases, and enabling tailored, patient-centred care – as demonstrated by examples involving tumours of the pancreas, liver and bile ducts.

In the cardiology use case, data from wearable, implanted and connected medical devices will be transferred to the data centres. New, mobile diagnostic devices will have a major impact on medical practice and research. They capture data from long-term monitoring and measurements, generating highly specific and comprehensive data sets. As a result, high-risk patients could be identified early, hospital stays reduced, and mortality rates lowered.

The infection control use case will develop an automated early-warning and cluster-analysis system to support the algorithmic detection of pathogen clusters in hospitals. This includes the identification of multidrug-resistant organism clusters, and their transmission routes within and between hospitals. It will also help determine whether clusters represent genuine outbreaks, and identify potential causes.

Data use and access concept

HiGHmed is developing a comprehensive data protection concept. This takes into account the location-specific principles and policies of the data integration centres, plus the requirements of its three use cases. The consortium has also drawn on the generic data protection concepts published by TMF as part of its book series in 2014. HiGHmed partners collaborated during the conceptual phase of the Medical Informatics Initiative to determine details of its data protection concept – for example, on data flow, identifying applicable legislation, origin and determination of data, and on applying technical and organisational solutions. HiGHmed continues to evolve and adapt its data protection concept, taking into account German legislation that has yet to be amended in line with the EU General Data Protection Regulation. Presentation and discussion will be via TMF’s data protection working group.

Measures to strengthen medical informatics in Germany

  • Establishment of a teaching and training programme
  • Establishment of a training-on-the-job programme
  • Development of concepts for graduate and post-graduate education
  • Qualifications for employees in the field of medical informatics
  • Training for medical healthcare professionals on using new technologies
  • HiGHmed certificate in medical informatics
  • Raising the proportion of women in medical informatics
  • Providing online information modules for patients, study participants, and citizens
Konsortialführer
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Roland Eils (HiGHmed Koordinator) / Prof. Dr. Björn Bergh (Standortsprecher)
Telefon
+49 6221 541 1290 (R. Eils) /+49 6221 562 2000 (B. Bergh)
Konsortialpartner
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Ramin Yahyapour (Standortsprecher)
Telefon
+49 551 2011 545
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Michael Marschollek (Standortsprecher)
Telefon
+49 511 5325 295
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Roland Eils
Telefon
+49 622 1545 1290
Leiter
Dr.-Ing. Matthieu-P. Schapranow
Telefon
+49 331 5509 1331
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Christoph Rußmann
Telefon
+49 551 3705 217
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Thomas M. Deserno
Telefon
+49 531 3912 130
Leiter
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Oliver J. Bott
Telefon
+49 511 9296 2627 oder +49 511 9296 1002
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Rolf Bendl / Prof. Dr. Christian Fegeler
Telefon
+49 713 1504 498 (R. Bendl) / +49 7131 504 527 (C. Fegeler)
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Kay Hamacher / Prof. Dr. Stefan Katzenbeisser
Telefon
+49 615 1162 0370 (K. Hamacher) / +49 6151 16 25620 (S. Katzenbeisser)
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Georg Ertl
Telefon
+49 931 201-39001
Laufzeit
2018 - 2022
Leiter
Prof. Dr. med. Björn Bergh
Laufzeit
2018 - 2022
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Andreas Beyer
Laufzeit
2018 - 2022
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Fabian Prasser (Standortsprecher)
Laufzeit
2018 - 2022
Leiter
Prof. Alice Carolyn McHardy
Telefon
+49 531 3915 5270
Leiter
Dr. Tim Eckmanns
Telefon
+49 301 8754 3485
Leiter
Dr. Ralf Brandner
Telefon
+49 622 7385 135
Leiter
Dr. Jürgen Quittek
Telefon
+49 6221 4342 115
Leiter
Dr. Martin Hirsch
Telefon
+49 30 6003 1987
Telefon
+49 800 1881 885
Leiter
Prof. Julian Varghese
Telefon
+49 251 83 54714
Laufzeit
2018 - 2022
Leiter
Dr. Marten Neubauer
Vernetzungspartner
Leiter
Dr. Steffen Ortmann
Laufzeit
2020 - 2022
Conceptual phase

The goal of the HiGHmed (Heidelberg - Göttingen - Hanover Medical Informatics) consortium is to develop and apply innovative information infrastructures – to enhance the efficiency of clinical research, and to accelerate the translation of these results into verifiable improvements in patient care.

During the conceptual phase of the initiative, HiGHmed developed concepts to establish four coordinated data integration centres (DICs) at the consortium’s locations. These would be compatible across organisations and institutions, and suitable for international cooperation. Moreover, the DICs are to be expanded both qualitatively and quantitatively in the following years.

This work is aligned with HiGHmed’s goal of developing innovative, internationally interoperable data integration solutions and methods, and proving their added value for research and patient care. In addition, the consortium intends to establish a programme to strengthen education and promote young medical informatics professionals – with a focus on new learning methods that incorporate digital media.

Concepts ready for implementation were developed in five work packages (WPs):

  • WP1 defined how data integration centres would be implemented and interconnected in greater detail.  
  • WP2 formulated research strategies on the basis of three medical use cases. These were developed in detail with corresponding experts from the consortium’s three sites to improve the chances of future validation of the data integration centres. The oncology use case focuses on the incorporation of omics data into clinical practice. The cardiology use case is based on data from wearable or implantable sensors, and the infectiology use case on data from healthcare.
  • WP3 described the education/support programme for young professionals in medical informatics.
  • WP4 focused on data protection, ethics and legal issues.
  • In addition to coordinating HiGHmed, WP5 developed concepts for external communications and roll-out.
Konsortialführer
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Roland Eils
Telefon
06221 54-51290
FKZ
01ZZ1605C
Betrag
172.837 EUR
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Konsortialpartner
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Ramin Yahyapour
Telefon
0551 201-1545
FKZ
01ZZ1605A
Betrag
59.600 EUR
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Dr. Michael Marschollek
Telefon
+49 511 5325 295
FKZ
01ZZ1605B
Betrag
63.600 EUR
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Roland Eils
Telefon
+49 622 1545 1290
FKZ
01ZZ1605D
Betrag
49.892 EUR
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017

Konsortium HiGHmed
HiGHmed Logo

Das Konsortium HiGHmed bündelt und integriert Kompetenzen von acht Universitätskliniken und medizinischen Fakultäten sowie weiteren Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie mit dem Ziel, innovative Informationsinfrastrukturen zu entwickeln und so einen schnelleren Transfer von Ergebnissen aus der Forschung in die klinische Praxis zu ermöglichen.

Das Konsortium HiGHmed wird in der Aufbau- und Vernetzungsphase seit Januar 2018 vom BMBF gefördert.

> Faktenblatt zum Konsortium und seinen Use Cases herunterladen [PDF]

Aufbau- und Vernetzungsphase

Datenintegrationszentren

Die Partner arbeiten organisations- und institutionsübergreifend zusammen, um einen Verbund von Datenintegrationszentren aufzubauen und diesen in den Folgejahren qualitativ und quantitativ auszuweiten. Dabei haben sie den Anspruch, auf Basis von internationalen Standards innovative und interoperable Datenintegrationslösungen und Methoden zu entwickeln sowie deren Mehrwert für Forschung und Versorgung zu belegen.

Anhand von drei wissenschaftlich anspruchsvollen klinischen Use Cases in den Bereichen Onkologie, Kardiologie und Infektionskontrolle werden die Datenintegrationszentren beispielhaft demonstrieren, wie Daten, Informationen und Wissen aus Krankenversorgung sowie klinischer und biomedizinischer Forschung zum Wohle von Patienten über die Grenzen von Standorten hinweg verknüpft werden können. Zur effizienten Datennutzung zwischen den Einrichtungen setzt das Konsortium auf offene, standardisierte und interoperable Lösungen, die auf andere klinische Anwendungsfälle übertragen und nachhaltig in den Betrieb der Universitätsklinika integriert werden können. Datenschutz und Datensicherheit haben dabei höchste Priorität.

Use Cases

Use Case Onkologie: Gezieltere Krebsbehandlung durch übergreifenden Wissensaustausch

Der Use Case Onkologie befasst sich mit der Herausforderung, enorme Datenmengen aus der Genomsequenzierung und Radiologie in die klinische Praxis zu integrieren. Ein virtuelles Onkologiezentrum wird den Behandlungsverlauf von Krebspatienten veranschaulichen und den Kliniken, Forschungseinrichtungen, Ärzten und Patienten als Austauschplattform dienen. So sollen ähnliche Krebsfälle besser erkannt und eine individuelle patientenorientierte Behandlung ermöglicht werden.

Use Case Kardiologie: Früherkennung und Vermeidung von Krankheitsschüben bei Langzeit-Verläufen

Im Use Case Kardiologie werden neben klinischen Daten neue, mobile Diagnosetechnologien für die Langzeitbeobachtung von chronisch Kranken erprobt. Sie ermöglichen es, umfangreiche und mitunter sehr spezifische Daten zu erfassen. Diese Daten können genutzt werden, um bei Patienten mit einem hohen Risikopotential für kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen frühzeitig Verschlechterungsschübe zu erkennen und somit langfristig Krankenhausaufenthalte und die Sterblichkeitsrate zu verringern.

Use Case Infektionskontrolle: Krankenhausinfektionen verstehen, vorhersehen und verhindern

Im Use Case Infektionskontrolle wird ein Softwaresystem zur Analyse verschiedener Datenquellen aus Krankenhäusern entwickelt, um potenzielle Ausbrüche von Krankenhausinfektionen frühzeitig zu erkennen und Patienten so besser zu schützen. Das automatisierte Frühwarnsystem wird mithilfe von Algorithmen Erregerübertragungen und -cluster in Krankenhäusern frühzeitig identifizieren und dabei auch multiresistente Keime und ihre Transmissionswege innerhalb und zwischen den Kliniken aufzeigen. Das System soll helfen, Übertragungen zu vermeiden und Ausbrüche schnell zu stoppen sowie mögliche Gründe für Übertragungen und Ausbrüche zu identifizieren. In der Folge soll es helfen, Interventionsstrategien zu optimieren.

Datennutzungskonzept

HiGHmed erarbeitet ein detailliertes Datenschutzkonzept, das die standortspezifischen Regularien der Datenintegrationszentren und die Anforderungen aus den jeweiligen Use Cases berücksichtigt. Das HiGHmed-Datenschutzkonzept wird auf den generischen Datenschutzkonzepten der Technologie- und Methodenplattform für die vernetzte medizinische Forschung e.V. (TMF) basieren, die 2014 in der TMF-Schriftenreihe erschienen sind. Details des HiGHmed-Datenschutzkonzeptes wurden während der Konzeptphase gemeinsam erarbeitet und adressieren unter anderem den Datenfluss, die Identifizierung der rechtlichen Grundlage, Ursprung und Bestimmung von Daten sowie die Anwendung technischer und organisatorischer Maßnahmen. Das HiGHmed-Datenschutzkonzept wird aktuell weiter entwickelt, um die noch nicht verabschiedeten Anpassungen der deutschen Regelungen an die Europäische Datenschutzgrundverordnung aufzunehmen. Die Abstimmung erfolgt dann über die Datenschutzplattform der TMF.

Maßnahmen zur Stärkung der Medizininformatik

Vernetzt – digital – praxisorientiert: Stärkung der Medizininformatik-Lehre

HiGHmed nutzt die herausragende Expertise der Projektpartner im Bereich der Lehre, um die Aus- und Fortbildung in der Medizininformatik bei allen Berufsgruppen im Gesundheitswesen zu stärken. Im Vordergrund steht dabei auch die Erhöhung des Frauenanteils in der Medizininformatik. Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, erarbeitet HiGHmed verschiedene Trainings- und Ausbildungskonzepte:

  • Entwicklung eines standortübergreifenden Lehr- und Fortbildungsprogrammes
  • Aufbau einer rechtskonformen Betriebsplattform
  • Online-Informationsmodule für PatientInnen, ProbandInnen und BürgerInnen
  • Vergabe von HiGHmed-Zertifikaten zum Nachweis erfolgreicher Teilnahme
Konsortialführer
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Roland Eils (HiGHmed Koordinator) / Prof. Dr. Christoph Dieterich (Standortsprecher)
Telefon
+49 6221 541 1290 (R. Eils) /+49 6221 563 6884 (C. Dieterich)
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Konsortialpartner
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Ramin Yahyapour (Standortsprecher)
Telefon
+49 551 2011 545
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Dr. Michael Marschollek (Standortsprecher)
Telefon
+49 511 5325 295
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Frank Ückert
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Dr.-Ing. Matthieu-P. Schapranow
Telefon
+49 331 5509 1331
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Christoph Rußmann
Telefon
+49 551 3705 217
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Thomas M. Deserno
Telefon
+49 531 3912 130
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Oliver J. Bott
Telefon
+49 511 9296 2627 oder +49 511 9296 1002
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Rolf Bendl / Prof. Dr. Christian Fegeler
Telefon
+49 713 1504 498 (R. Bendl) / +49 7131 504 527 (C. Fegeler)
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Kay Hamacher / Dr. Tatiana von Landesberger / Prof. Dr. Stefan Katzenbeisser
Telefon
+49 615 1162 0370 (K. Hamacher) / +49 615 1155 631 (T. von Landesberger) / +49 6151 16 25620 (S. Katzenbeisser)
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Georg Ertl
Telefon
+49 931 201-39001
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. med. Björn Bergh
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Andreas Beyer
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Martin Peuker (Standortsprecher)
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Gerard Krause
Telefon
+49 531 3915 5270
Laufzeit
2018-2021
Leiter
Dr. Tim Eckmanns
Telefon
+49 301 8754 3485
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Thomas Schneider
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Dr. Anette Großmüller
Telefon
+49 6227 7-61420
Laufzeit
2018 - 2019
Leiter
Dr. Mathias Niepert
Telefon
+49 6221 4342 0
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Dr. Martin Hirsch
Telefon
+49 30 6003 1987
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Telefon
+49 800 1881 885
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Martin Dugas
Telefon
+49 251 83 55261
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Konzeptphase

Ziel des Konsortiums HiGHmed (Heidelberg - Göttingen - Hannover Medical Informatics) ist die Entwicklung und Nutzung innovativer Informationsinfrastrukturen, um die Effizienz klinischer Forschung zu steigern und Forschungsergebnisse schneller in validierbare Verbesserungen der Patientenversorgung umzusetzen.

In der Konzeptphase wurden Konzepte entwickelt, um Organisations- und Institutionsübergreifend, mit internationaler Anschlussfähigkeit, einen Verbund von vier Datenintegrationszentren an den Standorten aufbauen und in den Folgejahren auf höchstem Niveau qualitativ und quantitativ ausbauen zu können. 

Verbunden ist damit der hohe Anspruch, innovative, international interoperable Datenintegrationslösungen und Methoden zu entwickeln, sowie deren Mehrwert für Forschung und Versorgung zu belegen. Überdies entsteht in der Kooperation ein Entwicklungsprogramm für die Lehre und den Aufbau wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses - neu orientiert an modernen Lehrmethoden mit digitalen Medien.

Umsetzungsreife Konzepte wurden in fünf Arbeitspaketen erarbeitet: 

  • AP1 präzisierte den Aufbau und Verbund der Datenintegrationszentren. 
  • AP2 formulierte Forschungsstrategien anhand drei ausgewählter medizinischer Anwendungsfälle („Use Cases“). Diese wurden mit Fachvertretern der drei Standorte bereits detailliert, um später gute Chancen zur Validierung der Datenintegrationszentren zu erhalten. Der Use Case „Onkologie“ (Spezialtherapie) fokussiert auf die Integration von Omics-Daten in die klinische Praxis, der Use Case „Kardiologie“ (letale kardiale Risiken) auf Daten trag-/implantierbarer Sensoren und der Use Case „Infektiologie“ (nosologisch übergreifende Infektionsrisiken) auf Versorgungsdaten. 
  • AP3 detaillierte das Lehr-/Nachwuchsprogramm. 
  • AP 4 bearbeitete Datenschutz, Ethik und Rechtsfragen. 
  • Außer der HiGHmed Koordination konzipierte AP5 die externe Kommunikation und das Roll-Out.
Konsortialführer
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Roland Eils
Telefon
06221 54-51290
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Konsortialpartner
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Ramin Yahyapour
Telefon
0551 201-1545
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Dr. Michael Marschollek
Telefon
+49 511 5325 295
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Roland Eils
Telefon
+49 622 1545 1290
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017