All consortia are represented in the corresponding National Steering Committee, with the aim of aligning activities and agreeing parameters. Concept papers, defined requirements, and template texts will be jointly prepared and discussed in dedicated working groups, and consented by the National Steering Committee.

Representatives of all funded consortia meet regularly within the national steering committee (NSC) of the medical informatics initiative in order to coordinate activities and agree key parameters. The NSC is a platform that enables the requirements of the scientific and research community to be consolidated, discussed and jointly acted upon. Members are also multipliers, communicating NSC decisions to the consortia and supporting implementation.


  • Identification of areas/issues requiring coordination/agreement, and development of a work/time schedule with corresponding milestones.
  • Determining the number and remit of working groups, and establishment of these groups. Where required, the NSC takes decisions impacting all working groups.
  • Decisions on the establishment and composition of a dialogue forum, and the appointment of a chairperson.
  • Decisions regarding cross-consortia collaboration, such as
    • Key points for cross-consortia data use and exchange,
    • Key points for the data integration centres to be established during the development and networking stage.
  • The formulation of recommendations, e.g. regarding the application of standards.
  • Providing advice to the funding organisation on additional modules worthy of monetary support.
  • Monitoring of bodies/organisations within the medical informatics initiative, with feedback and suggestions.
  • Provision of information to and coordination with participating sites.


The national steering committee has already agreed a number of strategy and planning documents.



NSG meeting on 10/12/2019, f. l. t. r.: Jens Bussmann (VUD e. V. / MII-Koordinationsstelle), Dr. Nanette Kälin (DLR PT), Prof. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch (Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg / MIRACUM), Prof. Till Acker (Universität Gießen / MIRACUM), Prof. Karl-Walter Jauch (Universität München / DIFUTURE), Dr. Frank Wissing (MFT e. V. / MII-Koordinationsstelle), Sebastian C. Semler (TMF e. V. / MII-Koordinationsstelle), Prof. Oliver Kohlbacher (Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen / DIFUTURE), Prof. Markus Löffler (Universität Leipzig / SMITH), Prof. Hans Kestler (Universitätsklinikum Ulm / DIFUTURE), Prof. Stefan Uhlig (RWTH Aachen / SMITH), Prof. Heyo Kroemer (Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin / HiGHmed), Martin Peuker (Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin / HiGHmed), Prof. Roland Eils (Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin / HiGHmed), Dr. Jaane Rauschenberg (BMBF); © TMF e.V.