The members of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) advise the National Steering Committee on overarching topics that either have an impact on the Medical Informatics Initiative as a whole or the external framework of reference.

This includes: 

  • management of the network infrastructure and questions of governance (e.g. with regard to achieving interoperability),
  • regulatory aspects of MII,
  • the relationship between MII and health and research policy,
  • the relationship between MII and health economics, and
  • collaboration and exchange with European and international organisations.

The National Steering Committee appoints members of the Scientific Advisory Board for a term of four years. The members of the board are:

M.D. James J. Cimino (Director UAB School of Medicine, Informatics Institute, USA)

Prof. Dr. Sabine Koch (Strategic Professor of Health Informatics and Director of HIC, the Health Informatics Centre, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden)
Prof. Dr. Christian Lovis (University Hospitals of Geneva, Switzerland)
  M.D., PhD Gerrit Meijer (Translational Gastrointestinal Oncology, Netherlands Cancer Institute, UMC Utrecht)
Genevieve Morris (Integral Health Strategies, USA)
M.D., PhD Lucila Ohno-Machado (Professor of Medicine, Department of Biomedical Informatics, UC San Diego – School of Medicine, USA)
Morten Elbaek Petersen (Danish eHealth Portal,
Dr. Stefan Sabutsch (Head of Standards & Usability, ELGA GmbH)
  Prof. Dr. Christiane Woopen (Europ. Ethikrat, Köln)

News article on the inaugural meeting