MIRACUM Consortium: Medical Informatics for Research and Care in University Medicine
MIRACUM Logo

MIRACUM unites eight university hospitals, two universities, and a partner from the healthcare industry, from five German states. Its goal is to make clinical, image and molecular/genomic data available for use in innovative research projects – both within and across multiple institutions, via modular, scalable and federated data integration centres (DICs). These DICs provide an opportunity to conduct feasibility and observation studies, and evaluate real-world pathways on a large scale. MIRACUM will also support the recruitment of patients for clinical studies, the development of predictive models, and precision medicine. In an effort to strengthen biomedical informatics and medical data science, the consortium has established nine new professorships at MIRACUM sites, with an additional five positions to follow. It will also set up a joint, multi-site master’s programme on biomedical informatics and medical data science.

MIRACUM will be funded by BMBF during the development and networking phase, beginning in January 2018.

Development and networking phase

Data integration centres

The establishment of data integration centres and their federated use is based on MIRACOLIX: an ecosystem of modular and reusable open-source tools. Over the coming years, these tools will be designed, developed and modified step-by-step in line with MIRACUM requirements. They will then be integrated into the infrastructure of the consortium’s eight data integration centres.

Data flows, beginning with routine systems in healthcare, are established in strict accordance with recommendations from TMF’s generic data protection concept, and with patient consent. They populate research repositories with data types that lend themselves to a variety of analysis methods.

The use and analysis of data across multiple sites is based on federated and decentralised data storage – as well as the philosophy of “bringing the analysis to the data”.

Use Cases

IT support for patient recruitment: Many clinical studies fall at the first hurdle because they lack enough participants. To improve the recruitment process using IT and available routine data, MIRACUM will integrate corresponding platforms into the healthcare information system (HIS) infrastructure at each of its university hospitals. Regular evaluation and feedback loops help increase the quality and completeness of the corresponding data.

From data to knowledge – clinico-molecular predictive knowledge tool: MIRACUM data integration centres enable the identification and stratification of patient cohorts based on clinical parameters, biomarkers and molecular/genomic data – with the goal of developing predictive models. Smart, FHIR-based apps integrated into healthcare information system (HIS) environments help put these models into practice, and support doctors with diagnostics and treatment decision-making. The initial focus will be on lung diseases and brain tumours.

From knowledge to action – support for molecular tumour boards: In the context of tumours, precision medicine is already very advanced. Many tumours can now be identified by driver mutations, and therefore treated in a targeted way. Moreover, clinical information, images, and molecular/genetic test results are compiled and shared via molecular tumour board meetings to aid interdisciplinary decision-making. MIRACUM will develop innovative IT solutions to improve quality assurance, data processing, data integration and information research that is required between high-throughput genetic analyses and treatment decisions. Additionally, hospitals will benefit from efficient data-visualisation tools that help them choose the right therapies.

Data use and access concept

During the conceptual phase, representatives of the MIRACUM consortium played an active role in the working groups established by the Medical Informatics Initiative’s National Steering Committee (NSG). The aim is to ensure all forms of data use are based closely on centrally defined recommendations and interoperability standards. Bearing this in mind, MIRACUM has established eight data-use and -approval committees, and related policies. The first clinical questions and use requests (including cross-consortia analysis with HD4CR) have already been evaluated and approved. This has enabled corresponding federated analyses to be conducted. MIRACUM has already published its first papers using these results.

Measures to strengthen medical informatics in Germany

  • Establishment of a multi-site master’s programme in biomedical informatics and medical data science designed for individuals already employed in related fields; part time as a non-consecutive master’s programme. The degree qualifies graduates for scientific research and leadership roles in the healthcare sector
  • Joint PhD programme in biomedical informatics and medical data science; for professionals in medicine, biomedical informatics, natural sciences, and biomedical technology
  • Training programme/online exercises in medical data science for doctors and medical researchers
  • Special summer schools for MIRACUM members, and for interested members of other consortia
  • Training programme for MIRACUM members, including regular webinars, online exercises and the opportunity to be an observer at other MIRACUM sites
  • Annual symposium
Consortium leader
Head
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch
Telephone
+49 913 1852 6721
Consortium partners
Head
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch
Telephone
+49 913 1852 6721
Head
Prof. Dr. Hubert Serve
Telephone
+49 696 3014 634
Head
PD Dr. Martin Boeker
Telephone
+49 761 2036 700
Head
Prof. Dr. Till Acker
Telephone
+49 641 9941 181
Head
Prof. Dr. Keywan Sohrabi
Telephone
+49 641 3096 600
Head
Prof. Dr. Maria Blettner
Telephone
+49 613 1173 252
Head
Prof. Dr. Paul Schmücker
Telephone
+49 621 2926 206
Head
Prof. Dr. Hermann-Josef Rothkötter
Telephone
+49 391 6715 754
Head
Prof. Dr. Harald Renz
Telephone
+49 642 1586 6234
Head
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hoffmann
Duration
2018 - 2021
Head
Prof. Dr. Martin Sedlmayr
Duration
2018 - 2021
Head
Dr. Philipp Daumke
Telephone
+49 761 7083 940
Conceptual phase

The MIRACUM consortium created detailed concepts for the establishment of data integration centres, for cross-institutional data use, for the development of modules to support use cases, for the evaluation of use cases, and for strengthening medical informatics in research and education.

For long-term success of the project as a whole, ongoing support for young professionals is vital. Consequently, MIRACUM developed a training/skills development programme for medical informatics, with a focus on data science in medicine. The goal was the creation of a comprehensive project plan that takes into account the current situation at each of the eight sites, and the latest international developments.

To gain visibility into the global state of the art, MIRACUM members travelled the USA on a fact-finding trip, and visited facilities with proven excellence in data sharing/integration.

The consortium performed tasks in three working groups: data integration centres, use cases, and strengthening medical informatics. The corresponding work was finalised at a steering board workshop at the end of the conceptual phase.

Consortium leader
Head
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch
Telephone
+49 913 1852 6720
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606H
Funding amount
128.668 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Consortium partners
Head
PD Dr. Martin Boeker
Telephone
+49 761 2036 700
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606A
Funding amount
31.921 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Head
Prof. Dr. Frank Ückert
Telephone
+49 622 1425 101
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606B
Funding amount
27.925 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Head
Prof. Harald Binder
Telephone
+49 613 1173 938
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606C
Funding amount
31.886 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Head
Prof. Dr. Helmut Schäfer
Telephone
+49 642 1566 6200
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606D
Funding amount
33.044 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Head
Prof. Dr. Hubert Serve
Telephone
+49 696 3015 194
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606E
Funding amount
33.044 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Head
Prof. Dr. Michael Neumaier
Telephone
+49 621 3832 222
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606F
Funding amount
31.886 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Head
Prof. Dr. Till Acker
Telephone
+40 641 9941 181
Funding Ref. No.
01ZZ1606G
Funding amount
33.044 EUR
Duration
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017

Konsortium MIRACUM: Medizininformatik in Forschung und Versorgung in der Universitätsmedizin
MIRACUM Logo

MIRACUM vereint zehn Universitätsklinika, zwei Hochschulen und einen Industriepartner aus sieben deutschen Bundesländern. Ziel ist es, klinische Daten, Bilddaten und Daten aus molekularen/genomischen Untersuchungen sowohl standortbezogen als auch standortübergreifend über modular aufgebaute, skalierbare und föderierte Datenintegrationszentren für innovative Forschungsprojekte nutzbar zu machen. Neben der, mit solchen Datenintegrationszentren grundsätzlichen, Möglichkeit der Durchführung von Machbarkeitsstudien, Beobachtungsstudien und der Untersuchung von „Real World Pathways“ in großem Maßstab, wird MIRACUM die Rekrutierung von Patienten für klinische Studien, die Entwicklung von Prädiktionsmodellen und die Präzisionsmedizin unterstützen. Um die Biomedizinische Informatik und Medical Data Science zu stärken, wurden an den MIRACUM Standorten bereits zehn neue Professuren ausgeschrieben und weitere werden folgen. Zudem soll ein gemeinsames, standortübergreifendes Masterstudium zu „Biomedical Informatics und Medical Data Science“ aufgebaut werden.

Das Konsortium MIRACUM wird in der Aufbau- und Vernetzungsphase, die im Januar 2018 startet, vom BMBF gefördert.

Aufbau- und Vernetzungsphase

Datenintegrationszentren

Die Etablierung von Datenintegrationszentren und deren föderierte Nutzung basiert auf MIRACOLIX: einem Ökosystem von modular gestalteten und wiederverwendbaren Open-Source-Tools, die in den kommenden Jahren schrittweise konzipiert, entwickelt bzw. auf die MIRACUM-Anforderungen adaptiert und in die Infrastruktur der zehn Datenintegrationszentren integriert werden.

Die Datenflüsse, ausgehend von den Routinesystemen der Krankenversorgung, werden unter strikter Berücksichtigung der TMF-Empfehlungen aus dem generischen Datenschutzkonzept sowie der jeweiligen Patienteneinwilligungen, etabliert, um – auf die unterschiedlichen Analyseverfahren und Datentypen zugeschnittene – Forschungsdaten-Repositories zu befüllen.

Die standortübergreifende Datennutzung und -analyse beruht auf dem Konzept der föderierten und dezentralen Datenhaltung und der Philosophie „Bring the analysis to the data“.

Use Cases

Alerting in Care – IT Support for Patient Recruitment: Klinische Studien scheitern häufig bereits an der zu geringen Rekrutierung passender Studienteilnehmer/innen. Um die Rekrutierungsprozesse durch IT-Verfahren und vorhandene Routinedaten zu unterstützen, werden wir an jedem unserer Universitätsklinika entsprechende Rekrutierungsplattformen in die KIS-Umgebungen integrieren und die Dokumentationsqualität und Vollständigkeit der für die Rekrutierung herangezogenen Datenelemente kontinuierlich mittels regelmäßiger Evaluationen und Feedbackschleifen verbessern.

From Data to Knowledge – Clinico-molecular predictive knowledge tool: Mit dem schrittweisen inhaltlichen Ausbau der Datenintegrationszentren wird eine Basis gelegt, um Patientenkohorten anhand von klinischen Parametern, Biomarkern und molekularen/genomischen Untersuchungen zu identifizieren und in Subgruppen zu stratifizieren, so dass auf diese jeweils zugeschnittene Prädiktionsmodelle entwickelt werden können. Mittels FHIR-basierter, in die jeweiligen KIS-Umgebungen eingebetteter Smart-Apps werden die Prädiktionsmodelle in den Klinikalltag zurück gespielt und Ärzte in ihren diagnostischen und therapeutischen Entscheidungen unterstützt. Der klinische Fokus wird hierbei zunächst auf Lungenerkrankungen und Patienten mit Hirntumoren gelegt.

From Knowledge to Action – Support for Molecular Tumor Boards: Die Präzisionsmedizin ist im Kontext der Versorgung von Tumorpatienten bereits sehr weit fortgeschritten. Für viele Tumore kann man heute sogenannte “Driver Mutations” mittels tiefer genetischer Charakterisierung identifizieren und diese sehr gezielt therapieren. In Molekularen Tumorboards (MTB) laufen letztendlich alle klinischen Informationen und Bilder, sowie molekulare/genetische Untersuchungsergebnisse zur interdisziplinären Entscheidungsfindung zusammen. In diesem Kontext hat es sich MIRACUM zur Aufgabe gestellt, die komplexen Prozesse der Qualitätssicherung, Datenaufbereitung, Datenintegration und Informationsrecherche zwischen den genetischen Hochdurchsatzanalysen und der medizinischen Therapieentscheidung, mit innovativen IT-Lösungen zu optimieren und den Klinikern durch effiziente Datenvisualisierungen eine Entscheidungsunterstützung zu bieten.

Datennutzungskonzept

Vertreter/innen des MIRACUM Konsortiums haben sich in der Konzeptphase mit großem Einsatz in die Arbeiten der vom Nationalen Steuerungsgremium (NSG) der BMBF MI-I eingerichteten Arbeitsgruppen eingebracht. Unser Ziel ist es, in allen Formen der Datennutzung immer eng angelehnt an die, auf zentraler Ebene definierten, Empfehlungen und Interoperabilitätsvorgaben zu agieren. Auf dieser Basis wurden mittlerweile an allen zehn MIRACUM Standorten "Datennutzungs- und -freigabe-Committees" eingerichtet und "Datennutzungs-/-freigabe-Policies" etabliert. Erste klinische Fragestellungen und Nutzungsanfragen (unter anderem auch eine konsortiumsübergreifende Auswertung gemeinsam mit HD4CR) wurden von diesen bereits geprüft und freigegeben, so dass die entsprechenden föderierten Analysen durchgeführt und, basierend auf deren Ergebnissen, schon erste Publikationen auf den Weg gebracht werden konnten.

Maßnahmen zur Stärkung der Medizininformatik

  • Einrichtung eines standortübergreifenden, berufsbegleitenden Masterprogramms „Biomedical Informatics and Medical Data Science“ als nicht-konsekutives Masterstudium in Teilzeit. Der Master qualifiziert für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Führungsaufgaben im Gesundheitssektor
  • Gemeinsames PhD Programm in „Biomedical Informatics and Medical Data Science“ für Mediziner, Biomedizinische Informatiker, Naturwissenschaftler und Wissenschaftler der Biomedizinischen Technik
  • Trainingsprogramme/Online-Übungen in Medical Data Science für Ärzte und medizinische Forscher als Zielgruppe
  • Summer Schools speziell für MIRACUM Mitarbeiter/innen, aber auch offen für Interessenten aus anderen Konsortien
  • Trainingsprogramm für MIRACUM Mitarbeiter mit regelmäßigen Webinaren, Online-Übungen und Hospitationen an den jeweils anderen MIRACUM Standorten
  • Jährliche Symposien
Konsortialführer
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch
Telefon
+49 913 1852 6721
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Konsortialpartner
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch
Telefon
+49 913 1852 6721
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Hubert Serve
Telefon
+49 696 3014 634
Leiter
PD Dr. Martin Boeker
Telefon
+49 761 2036 700
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Till Acker
Telefon
+49 641 9941 181
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Keywan Sohrabi
Telefon
+49 641 3096 600
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Maria Blettner
Telefon
+49 6131 17-5835
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Thomas Ganslandt / Prof. Dr. Paul Schmücker
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Dr. Johannes Bernarding
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Harald Renz
Telefon
+49 642 1586 6234
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hoffmann
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Martin Sedlmayr
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Leiter
Dr. Philipp Daumke
Telefon
+49 761 7083 940
Laufzeit
2018 - 2021
Konzeptphase

Im Rahmen der Konzeptphase des Förderprogramms Medizinische Informatik, hat das Konsortium ein Detailkonzept zur Etablierung von Datenintegrationszentren, standortübergreifender Datennutzung, zur Modul-Entwicklung zur Unterstützung der Use Cases, der Evaluation der Use Cases sowie zur Weiterentwicklung der Medizinischen Informatik in Forschung und Lehre erarbeitet.

Für die Nachhaltigkeit des Gesamtprojekts ist eine kontinuierliche Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses notwendig. Deshalb wurde ein Aus- und Weiterbildungskonzept Medizinische Informatik mit Schwerpunkt "Data Science in Medicine" erarbeitet. Ziel war die Erstellung eines umfassenden Projektplans unter Berücksichtigung der jeweiligen Ausgangsituation der beteiligten acht Standorte sowie des internationalen Entwicklungsstandes.

Um zunächst einen Überblick zum internationalen State of the Art zu gewinnen, haben Mitglieder des Konsortiums eine Informationsreise in die USA durchgeführt und Standorte besucht, die im Kontext Data Integration/Sharing als exzellent ausgewiesenen sind. 

Die Arbeit erfolgte in drei Arbeitsgruppen: Datenintegrationszentren, Use Cases und Stärkung der Medizinischen Informatik. Am Ende der Konzeptphase erfolgte die endgültige Abstimmung in einem Workshop des Steering Boards.

Konsortialführer
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Prokosch
Telefon
+49 913 1852 6720
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Konsortialpartner
Leiter
PD Dr. Martin Boeker
Telefon
+49 761 2036 700
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Frank Ückert
Telefon
+49 622 1425 101
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Harald Binder
Telefon
+49 613 1173 938
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Helmut Schäfer
Telefon
+49 642 1566 6200
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Hubert Serve
Telefon
+49 696 3015 194
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Michael Neumaier
Telefon
+49 621 3832 222
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017
Leiter
Prof. Dr. Till Acker
Telefon
+40 641 9941 181
Laufzeit
01.08.2016 - 30.04.2017